Meditate to Save the World

Remember Remember the 5th of November.

In 1605 12 people, including Guy Fawkes tried to blow up The House Of Lords because, well something about Catholics vs Protestants and Elizabeth naming herself and all succeeding monarchs head of Church AND State. It is understandable that one, especially a marginalized catholic would find that situation to be unpalatable.

The idea of the people fighting against injustice is an easy one to get on board with. In the United States the 2nd amendment is a huge deal, in 1790 France people used the guillotine rather than the gun. Even in Canada I myself have a t-shirt that says STOP HARPER with a big stop sign on it. I never intended to blow him up or chop off his head but I did protest many of the bills that he passed during his time as minister.

The result? More of the very thing that was being resisted.

Anger, Outrage and Fear are very strong emotions that carry a lot of power and that power is amplified in a crowd. I came to realize that even a non-violent protest has a very clear us vs them energy. Protest and resistance are almost synonyms.

It’s a fight of ego vs ego and nobody wins. This also applies to politics, religion any impassioned resistance to “the other”. So while I certainly wouldn’t support certain actions or policies with my vote or my voice, I try not to resist them.

I try to accept them and offer to them the very same love and presence that I offer to people and moments that are agreeable.

“But I say to you, love your enemies and bless the one who curses you, and do what is beautiful to the one who hates you, and pray over those who take you by force and persecute you.” -from the Aramaic Bible Matthew 5:44

Some of the words in that book are golden and beautiful.

So if you’re about to enter a facebook battle about politics or to insist that all rapists should be raped themselves, instead set the timer on your phone for 15 or 20 minutes and meditate.

542273_10151723300170445_633271902_n

Meditation is the tool that can mend our political, racial and religious divides and it’s easy to do.

Blessed Be.

 

 

Leave a comment